Maximizing Communication Between Clients and Attorneys

Domestic violence accounts for approximately one-fifth of all violent crime in the United States and is among the most difficult issues confronting professionals in the legal and criminal justice systems. In this volume, Elizabeth Britt argues that learning embodied advocacy-a practice that results from an expanded understanding of expertise based on lived experience-and adopting it in legal settings can directly and tangibly help victims of abuse. Focusing on clinical legal education at the Domestic Violence Institute at the Northeastern University School of Law, Britt takes a case-study approach to illuminate how challenging the context, aims, and forms of advocacy traditionally embraced in the U.S. legal system produces better support for victims of domestic violence. She analyzes a wide range of materials and practices, including the pedagogy of law school training programs, interviews with advocates, and narratives written by students in the emergency department, and looks closely at the forms of rhetorical education through which students assimilate advocacy practices. By examining how students learn to listen actively to clients and to recognize that clients have the right and ability to make decisions for themselves, Britt shows that rhetorical education can succeed in producing legal professionals with the inclination and capacity to engage others whose values and experiences diverge from their own. By investigating the deep relationship between legal education and rhetorical education, Reimagining Advocacy calls for conversations and action that will improve advocacy for others, especially for victims of domestic violence seeking assistance from legal professionals.

A comprehensive guide to service-learning for social justice written by an international panel of experts The Wiley International Handbook of Service-Learning for Social Justice offers a review of recent trends in social justice that have been, until recently, marginalized in the field of service-learning. The authors offer a guide for establishing and nurturing social justice in a variety of service-learning programs, and show that incorporating the principles of social justice in service-learning can empower communities to resist and disrupt oppressive power structures, and work for solidarity with host and partner communities. With contributions from an international panel of experts, the Handbook contains a critique of the field's roots in charity; a review of the problematization of Whitenormativity, paired with the bolstering of diverse voices and perspectives; and information on the embrace of emotional elements including tension, ambiguity, and discomfort.  This important resource: Considers the role of the community in service-learning and other community‑engaged models of education and practice Explores the necessity of disruption and dissonance in service-learning Discusses a number of targeted issues that often arise in service-learning contexts Offers a practical guide to establishing and nurturing social justice at the heart of an international service-learning program  Written for advanced undergraduate students, graduate students, scholars, and educators, The Wiley International Handbook of Service-Learning for Social Justice highlights social justice as a conflict‑ridden struggle against inequality, xenophobia, and oppression, and offers practical suggestions for incorporating service-learning programs in various arenas. 

Transforming Justice, Lawyers and the Practice of Law is an anthology compiled by the editor of The Affective Assistance of Counsel: Practicing Law as a Healing Profession (Carolina Academic Press 2007). This work is a collection of writings by participants in the Project for Integrating Spirituality, Law and Politics (PISLAP) and others actively engaged in transforming law, legal education and social justice into something that is collaborative rather than adversarial, that seeks to heal brokenness rather than merely resolve disputes, and that moves us toward The Beloved Community envisioned by the Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr. more than fifty years ago. The book showcases the abundant ways in which lawyers, judges, law professors and others are employing more communitarian, peaceful and healing ways to resolve conflicts and achieve justice. It is written for those who share similar goals and are eager to learn new ways to practice law and create a legal system that fosters empathy, compassion and constructive change.

Offers a Unique Focus on the Experience of the Community Served While campus engagement with the local community is generally viewed in a positive light, in reality these collaborations are more complex. Presenting a variety of contemporary models and frameworks for community engagement, this book is distinguished by its unique emphasis on campus-community partnerships from the perspective of the community. Bolstered by concrete data, the text addresses the impact of a variety of service-learning arrangements on local communities and focuses on the experiences, both positive and negative, of the community organization. Integrating theoretical, historical, ethical, and practical frameworks, the book examines in depth such emerging models as global service learning, social entrepreneurship, and experiential philanthropy. Vivid case examples drawing from real-life programs that have been implemented in the United States and abroad bring these models to life. While the book emphasizes the perspectives of the communities served, it also encompasses the experiences of nonprofit organizations, students, and faculty. Students, faculty, and administrators who are engaged in campus-community partnerships--particularly in disciplines that are grounded in community-based learning, such as social work, human services, sociology, and public service studies--will find this book to be an important resource. Key Features: Examines campus--community partnerships from the perspective of the community served Presents lively and engaging case studies of domestic and global scenarios Includes the perspectives of nonprofit organizations, students, community members, and faculty Includes extensive resources for more in-depth study

Interviewing and Investigating: Essential Skills for the Legal Professional, 6E reflects a thorough and practical approach, for a strong foundation in interviewing and investigating, as well as in the civil, criminal, and non-litigation contexts in which they are used. This comprehensive text uses realistic case scenarios, practical exercises, illustrations, and examples to teach the essential skills of interviewing and investigating, helping students to master rather than memorize the skills. Led by an experienced practitioner and author, readers will make connections between law and fact, engage in critical analysis, and develop specific communication skills that are indispensable in practice. Key Features:  Summaries of newly decided cases involving attorney-client privilege and the use of social media to communicate. References to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure in Chapters 3 and 4 revised to reflect December 2015 amendments, including: FRCP 26(c)(1)(B): cost shifting in connection with a motion for protective order during discovery FRCP 37(e): national standard for imposition of sanctions for spoliation of ESI FRCP 16(b)(3):judicial input on certain e-discovery issues at the outset of a case. References to Federal Rules of Evidence 801(d)(1)(B) and 803(6)(7)(8) updated and new examples added. New section on the confrontation clause. All websites updated and new sites added. Discussions of e-discovery updated to reflect the latest developments in online social networking and technology. In updated case studies, social media plays a significant role in the characters' lives--sometimes to their detriment. Expansion of the treatment of public records and the explanation of what state public records acts cover and how to access them. Refreshed instructor's manual providing a sample syllabus, suggested approaches to using the various pedagogical features in the text, instructions and evaluation form for persons roleplaying as witnesses, and a complete test bank with answers. 

Rather than trying to impose a preferred solution on their client, lawyers should better listen to their clients; educate their clients on their options; and engage the client in solutions. The benefits of this approach include: Happier clients and a more productive attorney-client relationship A competitive edge in customer service Better client retention and attraction of new clients A competitive advantage in conflict resolution A more meaningful and fulfilling practice A reduction in stress and burnout Kohan devotes specific chapters to the principles of coaching; the history of coaching and the law; and how to design an "attorney-client alliance." She emphasizes that lawyers must work toward their own fulfillment in order to help clients achieve their fulfillment, or as Kohan puts it, "Happy lawyer, happy client." The book serves as the quintessential relationship skills resource for attorneys. Using an "Attorney-Client Alliance" model, Kohan shows lawyers how to empower their clients and engage them in solutions. This user-friendly book provides practical coaching skills, which can be incorporated into a legal practice immediately, without being tedious."

This book focuses on what and how to teach students about being a lawyer as they take responsibility for clients in a clinical course. The book identifies learning and lawyering theories as well as practical approaches to planning and teaching; it highlights how the four clinical methodologies -- seminar, rounds, supervision, and fieldwork -- reinforce and complement each other. The book illustrates clinical education's transformative potential to create ethical, skilled, thoughtful practitioners imbued with professional values of justice and service. With contributions by both seasoned and newer clinical educators, the book addresses issues faced by all who teach in experiential lawyering courses.

The practice of one human being exploiting another in slavery-like conditions is not new. Today, it is called human trafficking. Social, political, and economic forces over the past 60 years have changed how and why this human rights abuse occurs. In order to solve this or any social problem, it is important that it is fully understood. With a range of contributing subject experts from different disciplines and professions, this text comprehensively explains human trafficking as it exists and is being addressed in the twenty-first century. Human Trafficking is essential reading for professionals working in many fields, including law enforcement, human services, and health care, and for concerned citizens interested in human rights and how to make a difference in their communities. This book is also intended for use in undergraduate and graduate interdisciplinary courses in human trafficking. A bank of test items applicable to each article in the book is available to instructors interested in selecting this edition for course use. Simply send an e.mail to the publisher at saleshss@taylorandfrancis.com

For most lawyers, effective client counseling is neither intuitive nor easy. Lawyers tend to avoid or delay communicating bad news out of a fear of client backlash, or because they feel torn between the obligation to clearly inform clients about weaknesses in legal positions and fear ofdamaging the client relationship. There is a perception that honest advice from a lawyer can make a client doubt the allegiance and zeal brought to a particular legal matter. Client Science helps lawyers to effectively communicate with their clients, particularly when delivering bad news or other legal realities. Author, Marjorie Corman Aaron, explains the applicable social sciences and translates insights from these fields into plain language to help improve a lawyer'sordering, timing, phrasing, and type of explanation, as well as style adjustments for the lawyer's voice, gesture, and body position. Ultimately, she demonstrates how the proverbial well-informed client - meaning a client who fully understands and appreciates the lawyer's information and advice -can also be a satisfied client who trusts the lawyer's competence and loyalty.

A clear understanding of social justice requires complex rather than simple answers. It requires comfort with ambiguity rather than absolute answers. This is counter to viewing right versus wrong, just vs. unjust, or good vs. evil as dichotomies. This book provides many examples of where and how to begin to view these as continuums rather than dichotomies.

The SAGE Handbook of Intercultural Competence brings together in one volume the leading experts and scholars from a variety of fields (e.g., education, communication, psychology, social work, health care, conflict studies, etc.) and from around the world who do work in intercultural competence (defined as appropriate and effective communication, as well as behavior, in intercultural situations). Given the current and future focus on global workforce development, and on globalization in general, this Handbook examines the skills, attitudes, and knowledge needed in our ever diverse world.

This book is intended for lawyers and law students interested in developing the competencies to practice law as a healthy, healing profession, one that the lawyer finds fulfilling and rewarding and that is beneficial and healing for the client. It will interest those inclined towards new directions in lawyering, psychology and multiculturalism. In addition, it will be a useful text in clinical law teaching as well as other courses aimed at finding alternative, humanistic approaches to legal practice.The incidence of alcoholism, substance abuse and depression among lawyers, as well as widespread dissatisfaction with the practice of law, underscore the importance of developing healthy, healing alternatives to traditional, largely adversarial, law practice. Despite increasing interest in alternatives to traditional legal practice, embodied in what Professor Susan Daicoff has characterized as The Comprehensive Law Movement, and including schools of thought such as Therapeutic Jurisprudence, there currently exists no compendium of the competencies needed for such practice. In addition, there is little in the literature of the Comprehensive Law Movement that explores the particular challenges of cross-cultural representation. This book is intended to fill that void.

Every profession has specific philosophies and approaches to effective communication; "Smart Talk: Contemporary Interviewing and Interrogation", First Edition, was designed to pinpoint those most useful to the criminal justice profession. "Smart Talk" covers both interviewing and interrogation techniques - along with their legal considerations - in a single volume. Exploring multiple approaches to interviewing, it clearly identifies communication techniques that improve the quality and quantity of information gathered from victims, witnesses, and perpetrators. Landmark cases and field accounts bring a real world application to the book and reinforce how strong communication skills lead to more successful case investigations. Provides essential interviewing and interrogation techniques. Provides the theory, philosophy and background for each approach so readers understand what the approach is and when to use it. Addresses techniques for interviewing special populations such as children, elders, and persons with disabilities and mental illness. Law enforcement professionals.

Presents a step-by-step program for learning how to create successful relationships with the client.

This major revision of a groundbreaking casebook sets the foundation for an intriguing course in civil rights or race And The law. Now accompanied by a Teacher's Manual For The first time, RACE, RACISM, AND AMERICAN LAW, Fourth Edition, Is a penetrating and provocative analysis of the role of race in American law and society by the noted author And The originator of critical race theory. This scrupulously revised casebook now offers: an appendix of lightly edited historical and contemporary cases for instructors who prefer a fuller case treatment expanded coverage that includes Latino and Asian minorities commentary on the Supreme Court's conception of a 'color-blind' society and its effects on voting, employment, and affirmative action discussion of Professor Lani Guinier's views on proportional representation consideration of the disproportionately high percentage of blacks and Hispanics in American prisons an examination of the role of the media in propagating societal fear of minorities new cases in employment discrimination analysis of the impact of the technological age on workers with minimal skills Bell uses a wide range of materials to convey important points: Interdisciplinary excerpts from historical, sociological, and psychological publications provide comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the subject. in each chapter, creative hypothetical exercises in consciousness-raising help students realize the insidious nature and complex consequences of racism in the United States. Seminal cases from the annals of history show the relevance of past events to contemporary race relations. Original critical race theory supplies essential perspective while allowing students to reach their own conclusions. If you haven't already used Derrick Bell's pioneering casebook, this all-new edition and its helpful Teacher's Manual will make you want to reconsider. Repeat users will be able to revitalize their presentation through the updated, expanded content and new Appendix of cases that still preserve the distinctive character of the book.