Selected Law, Social Work, and Health Resources at Case Western Reserve University
This research guide is focused on law, social work and health resources used by law students and other researchers. Use of resources in multiple disciplines helps create "common ground" by encouraging mutual respect, open communication & understanding.
Selected Social Work Book Titles: MSASS (Harris Library), KSL & Law Lib.
Health and Social Work: Practice, Policy, & Research
by Janna C. Heyman & Elaine P. Congress, eds.
Call Number: MSASS Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling
by J. Manuel Casas, Lisa A. Suzuki, et al.
Call Number: BF636.7C76 H3174 2017 MSASS
Publication Date: 2017
Models for Practice with Immigrants and Refugees
by Marta K. Lundy (Editor); Aimee Hilado (Editor)
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2017-05-10
Designed to establish a foundational framework for working with trauma-exposed immigrants and refugees, Models for Practice With Immigrants and Refugees: Collaboration, Cultural Awareness and Integrative Theory by Aimee Hilado and Marta Lundy introduces innovative approaches to address client mental health problems while supporting adjustment to life in a new country. This practice-oriented book emphasizes the relevance of Western approaches while reorienting Western concepts to be more culturally sensitive from a domestic and international perspective. Grounded in critical thinking and strengthened by an ecological systems perspective, the book presents six different models for applying and integrating Western theory and related practice strategies for working with individuals, families, groups, communities, organizations, volunteers, and local workforces.
Critical Issues in Social Work Law
by Alison Brammer; Jane Boylan
Call Number: OhioLink
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Written by a team of leading authorities in the field, this collection provides a critique of the law as it applies to social work practice, and identifies key contemporary issues for social work. Tackling topics such as trafficking, youth justice and child protection, the book is a valuable contribution to the debates in social work law.
Understanding Health Inequalities and Justice
by Mara Buchbinder (Editor); Michele Rivkin-Fish (Editor); Rebecca L. Walker (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2016-11-07
The need for informed analyses of health policy is now greater than ever. The twelve essays in this volume show that public debates routinely bypass complex ethical, sociocultural, historical, and political questions about how we should address ideals of justice and equality in health care. Integrating perspectives from the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and public health, this volume illuminates the relationships between justice and health inequalities to enrich debates. Understanding Health Inequalities and Justice explores three questions: How do scholars approach relations between health inequalities and ideals of justice? When do justice considerations inform solutions to health inequalities, and how do specific health inequalities affect perceptions of injustice? And how can diverse scholarly approaches contribute to better health policy? From addressing patient agency in an inequitable health care environment to examining how scholars of social justice and health care amass evidence, this volume promotes a richer understanding of health and justice and how to achieve both. The contributors are Judith C. Barker, Paula Braveman, Paul Brodwin, Jami Suki Chang, Debra DeBruin, Leslie A. Dubbin, Sarah Horton, Carla C. Keirns, J. Paul Kelleher, Nicholas B. King, Eva Feder Kittay, Joan Liaschenko, Anne Drapkin Lyerly, Mary Faith Marshall, Carolyn Moxley Rouse, Jennifer Prah Ruger, and Janet K. Shim.
by Milton Townsend
Call Number: eBook on EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
This book provides insights into the political, social and health issues for Veterans in today's society. Chapter One explores the emotions of shame and guilt in Veterans based on research examining moral injury, survivor guilt, military sexual trauma, and stigma. Chapter Two provides an overview of agricultural initiatives in the transition and reintegration of Veterans. Chapter Three explores the political, social, and health management changes that have occurred in the field of chronic, non-cancer pain in order to provide world class service for our nation's Veterans. Chapter Four reviews the Emotional Freedom Technique to treat Veterans with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). Chapter Five offers suggestions based on clinical experiences for when and how to include family members in Prolonged Exposure (PE) therapy for PTSD, while maintaining fidelity to the treatment protocol. Chapter Six explores research that has been conducted upon the oral health of veterans since 2000. Chapter Seven examines potentially mutually exclusive objectives utilizing the principles of beneficence and nonmaleficence in relationship to bioethics and the concept of need. Chapter Eight discusses the continued existence of ethnic disparities in health care for U.S. Veterans Affairs Emergency Departments.
Law in Social Work Practice
by Andrea Saltzman; David M. Furman; Kathleen Ohman
Call Number: MSASS KF390.S390.S6 S25 2016
Publication Date: 2015-01-05
Written by an author team educated in both the law and social work, this book acquaints readers with major state and federal laws, regulations, and court opinions that directly affect social work practice. LAW IN SOCIAL WORK PRACTICE, 3rd Edition helps readers understand how to work within the legal system to benefit clients and further client interests, recognize certain client problems as legal, and work effectively with lawyers, as well as how the law shapes and restricts clients' actions. It also addresses how the law regulates social work practice, and how to recognize and respect the rights of clients and others affected by a practitioner's actions.
Social Work with Immigrants and Refugees
by Fernando Chang-Muy; Elaine Piller Congress
Call Number: eBook Collection
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Praise for the First Edition: "This book is an optimal tool for instructors and students of graduate classes in social work and related disciplines." Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health "This book is a major contribution to social workers and their clients as it addresses advocacy on behalf of immigrants and refugees during a social, economic, and political period that restricts immigrants' rights and service access." Dr. Diane Drachman, Associate Professor University of Connecticut School of Social Work "This text is a great tool toward raising awareness of the many issues immigrants face, and helping them find solutions." Frank Sharry, Executive Director, America's Voice The leading textbook on social work with immigrants and refugees, this is the only book to address the intersection of legal, policy, and advocacy issues, in addition to the clinical skills needed to help these populations. This second edition has been updated to reflect key policy changes at the state and federal levels affecting social work with immigrants and refugees. The authors have expanded their coverage of transnationalism, microaggressions, and public health and community issues, and each chapter features updated case studies on the most critical issues immigrants face today: legal processes, physical and mental health issues, employment difficulties, family conflicts, and more. Key Features: Completely updated to reflect the latest developments in immigration law and policy Includes updated case studies, discussion questions, and abundant reference material Provides the multidisciplinary perspective of lawyers, social workers, clinicians, administrators, and academics A valuable asset for students and practitioners working in mental health, health care, education, and community settings All-new appendix features sample questions asked at naturalization interviews
by Vicki Lens
Call Number: KF390.5.P6 L46 2016 Law Lib
Publication Date: 2015-12-09
Poor Justice: How the Poor Fare in the Courts provides a vivid portrait and appraisal of how the lives of poor people are disrupted or helped by the judicial system, from the lowest to the highest courts. Drawing from court room observations, court decisions, and other material, this book spans the street level justice of administrative hearings and lower courts (where people plead for welfare benefits or for a child not to be taken away), the mid-level justice of state courts (where advocates argue for the right to shelter for the homeless and for the rights of the mentally disabled), and the high justice of the Supreme Court (where the battle for school integration has represented a route out of poverty and the stop and frisk cases illustrate a route to greater poverty, through the mass incarceration of people of color). Poor Justice brings readers inside the courts, telling the story through the words and actions of the judges, lawyers, and ordinary people who populate it. It seeks to both edify and criticize. Readers will learn not only how courts work, but also how courts sometimes help - and often fail - the poor.
Risk Management in Social Work
by Frederic G. Reamer
Call Number: MSASS KF3721 .R428 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
This new text is based on Frederic G. Reamer's key reference for practitioners, Social Work Malpractice and Liability: Strategies for Prevention. Rooted in his own experiences as an expert witness in court and licensing board cases, the volume introduces the concepts of negligence, malpractice, and liability before turning to the subject of risk management. Reflecting on recent legal cases and research, Reamer identifies a variety of problems in the social work field relating to privacy and confidentiality, improper treatment and delivery of services, impaired practitioners, supervision, consultations and referrals, fraud and deception, and termination of service. He also explores the unprecedented ethical challenges created by new digital technologies--such as online counseling, video counseling, and practitioners' use of social networks and social media--and describes current issues relating to HIPAA compliance and access to electronic health records (EHR) and health information exchanges (HIE).He concludes with practical suggestions for social workers named as defendants in lawsuits and respondents in licensing board complaints.
The Poor in Court
by Susan E. Lawrence
Call Number: eBook Collection
Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Focusing on the Supreme Court as an integral part of the policy-making process, Susan Lawrence examines how a change in who has access to the Court, and the nature of the institutions that structure that access, has affected its agenda setting and doctrinal development. In her analysis of cases sponsored by the Legal Services Program (LSP) before the Supreme Court during the 1966 through 1974 terms, she explores the effect of this agency in creating a voice for the poor in the judicial policy-making process. The Court's response to cases presented by the LSP--as exemplified in its decisions to invalidate residency requirements for welfare recipients (Shapiro v. Thompson, 1969) but uphold maximum family grants (Dandridge v. Williams, 1970)--is described as emerging from a timely combination of new litigant claims, available legal bases, and judicial values and role conceptions, all of which were shaped by the political climate of the era. Lawrence convincingly argues that litigation before the Court is a powerful method of political participation for the disadvantaged. Originally published in 1990. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Evidence-Based Practice in Juvenile Justice
by Peter Greenwood
Call Number: MSASS HV9069.G744 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-17
Over the past 15 years, evidence-based practice in juvenile justice has moved from a concept to a full blown practice in a number of states. They have used research based principles and programs to: - completely reorganize their system for treating juveniles -reduce crime and recidivism -and saved money in the process. Evidence-Based Practice in Juvenile Justice describes the major players in this transformative process, the particular role they play in moving research to practice, and provides recommendations for applying this research in other locations. It will be of key interest to researchers in Criminology and Criminal Justice with a focus on Juvenile Justice or Juvenile Delinquency, or related fields such as Public Policy and Social Work, as well as policy-makers, and practitioners working in the juvenile justice system.
by Catherine Lee
Call Number: KSL HV699 .L43944 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-31
Today, roughly 70 percent of all visas for legal immigration are reserved for family members of permanent residents or American citizens. Family reunification--policies that seek to preserve family unity during or following migration--is a central pillar of current immigration law, but it has existed in some form in American statutes since at least the mid-nineteenth century. In Fictive Kinship, sociologist Catherine Lee delves into the fascinating history of family reunification to examine how and why our conceptions of family have shaped immigration, the meaning of race, and the way we see ourselves as a country. Drawing from a rich set of archival sources, Fictive Kinship shows that even the most draconian anti-immigrant laws, such as the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882, contained provisions for family unity, albeit for a limited class of immigrants. Arguments for uniting families separated by World War II and the Korean War also shaped immigration debates and the policies that led to the landmark 1965 Immigration Act. Lee argues that debating the contours of family offers a ready set of symbols and meanings to frame national identity and to define who counts as "one of us." Talk about family, however, does not inevitably lead to more liberal immigration policies. Welfare reform in the 1990s, for example, placed limits on benefits for immigrant families, and recent debates over the children of undocumented immigrants fanned petitions to rescind birthright citizenship. Fictive Kinship shows that the centrality of family unity in the immigration discourse often limits the discussion about the goals, functions and roles of immigration and prevents a broader definition of American identity. Too often, studies of immigration policy focus on individuals or particular ethnic or racial groups. With its original and wide-ranging inquiry, Fictive Kinship shifts the analysis in immigration studies toward the family, a largely unrecognized but critical component in the regulation of immigrants' experience in America.
The Narrative Edge: A Guide for Social Worker Expert Witnesses
by Ronald K. Bullis
Call Number: MSASS HV875.P38 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Social Work Practice
by Eileen Gambrill
Call Number: MSASS Res. HV91.G325 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-28
The first textbook to emphasize the importance of critical thinking skills to practice, this third edition of the classic Social Work Practice retains its unique focus on thinking critically about decisions that social workers make daily. Organized around the phases of helping, this hands-onintroduction highlights the decision points that social workers encounter during assessment, intervention, and evaluation. This text, together with its companion website, provides students with a wealth of hands-on exercises for developing and assessing their practice skills. Most importantly, ithelps students enhance client well-being by becoming critical thinkers and evidence-informed practitioners.
Professional Boundaries in Social Work and Social Care
by Frank Cooper
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2012-01-15
Professional boundaries between worker and client underpin all areas of practice in social work and social care, and the mismanagement of these boundaries can lead to unprofessional conduct and negative consequences for both worker and client.This book is a no-nonsense guide to boundaries - what they are, why they are there and how to maintain them, from legal boundaries and policies governing behaviour to rules surrounding confidentiality. Presenting a flexible framework of rules and guidelines which can be applied to any client relationship, the book offers practical advice and suggestions on how to judge boundaries and how to manage a situation when they have been crossed. It also explores the benefit to both worker and client of establishing a good rapport whilst maintaining a professional, emotional distance. Throughout the book, and in the self-assessment test provided, the reader is invited to examine his or her personal responses to working with clients and their effect on maintaining professional boundaries.This simple and practical reference guide will be of essential use to professionals in social work and social care working with or managing support for clients.
Social Work and the Law H/C
by Lyn et al Slater
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
" This is the first book to give social workers the tools to understand their clients' legal needs and rights and to address them collaboratively and effectively. Lyn Slater and Kara Finck ground their text in a comprehensive grasp of the legal system and the inequities of race, class, and gender that shape clients' experiences. Social Work Practice and the Law is a powerful call for social workers to be passionate and skillful advocates for their clients. Essential reading for social workers and lawyers alike who serve low-income people entangled in systems that so often fail them. Dorothy Roberts, JD Kirkland & Ellis Professor, Northwestern University School of Law Author, Shattered Bonds: The Color of Child Welfare Based on the author's innovative and nationally recognized prototype for inter-professional work at Fordham University, this is the only volume about social work and the legal system that is written from the social worker's perspective. Devoid of legalese, the book is designed to help social workers develop the ability to reappraise, question, and challenge the law to best serve their clients. It aims to promote the development of a more strategic relationship with the legal system-a partnership that can achieve more creative and just solutions to social problems. Exhaustive in scope, Social Work and the Law identifies current national and international trends and legal movements that support and invite inter-professional, critically competent social work participation. The book also identifies and explains the essential knowledge, skills, values, and attitudes necessary for the attainment of collaborative critical competence when interacting with the legal system. Each chapter includes vivid case studies based on actual collaborations that illustrate the application of theory to practice. Chapters also include legal, social work, and evidence-based resources. Key Features Promotes a proactive approach to the ways in which social workers can use law to promote clients' best interests Addresses all domains of social work practice-child welfare, housing law, educational access, disability law, benefits, and more Offers abundant case studies taken from the authors' real-life work Devoid of legalese and written from a social worker's perspective "
Child Protection, the Courts and Social Workers
by Terrance R. Langely (Editor)
Call Number: eBook on EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Each day the safety and well-being of children across the Nation are threatened by child abuse and neglect. Intervening effectively in the lives of these children and their families is not the sole responsibility of a single agency or professional group, but a shared community concern. This book provides a foundation for understanding child maltreatment and the roles and responsibilities of various practitioners in its prevention, identification, assessment, and treatment. The courts play a central role in making decisions regarding the protection of children who have been maltreated. Understanding this process is crucial for any professional involved in child protection. By having a thorough knowledge of this legal process and by working in partnership with the courts, child protective services (CPS) caseworkers and other professionals can work toward the safety, permanency, and well-being of children more effectively.
by Harvey Wallace; Cliff Roberson
Call Number: MSASS HQ809.3U5 W35 2011
Publication Date: 2010-03-24
This text presents a comprehensive introduction to the study of family violence and discusses current controversies in the field from three perspectives–legal, medical, and social.
Forensic Social Work: Psychosocial and Legal Issues in Diverse Practice Settings
by Carolyn Bradley; Tina Maschi; Kelly Ward
Call Number: MSASS KF8968.7.F67 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
T]his book provides practical practice guidance as well as...interviewing and assessment tips.... A]n invaluable source of information for students, practitioners, researchers and educators. -Karen M. Sowers, PhD Dean, University of Tennessee College of Social Work Regardless of their field of practice, all social workers must understand how legal issues impact the financial, psychological, emotional, and social concerns that their clients face. Yet legal issues are rarely integrated in social work education in a meaningful and practical way. Therefore, it is imperative that social workers gain the interdisciplinary knowledge of the laws and policies that affect their client populations. This groundbreaking text broadens the traditional definition of forensic social work to include the legal issues encountered in all social work settings-family and social services, education, child welfare, mental health, addiction treatment, juvenile and criminal systems, and immigration services. Advocating a collaborative approach, this book will allow social workers to navigate the complex social and legal issues that affect their clients. Includes discussions of the common legal issues all social workers face: How to help meet basic client needs such as income, food, and shelter Policies and practice with victims of violence The relationship between school social work and the law Assessment and treatment of child abuse and neglect The legal needs of clients with mental health and addiction issues Forensic practice in juvenile and criminal justice systems Effective practice with immigrants, refugees, and victims of human trafficking Digital instructor's materials available upon request. Email firstname.lastname@example.org to gain immediate access to: Forensic Interviewing Best Practices sample Psychiatric Evaluation sample Rapid Psychosocial Assessment Checklist Sample Syllabus for Forensic Social Work Courses Strengths-based Psychosocial Assessment and Treatment Planning Outline
Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law
by Michael Mandelstam
Call Number: eBook on EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2008-11-15
The protection of vulnerable adults is a fast emerging area of work for local authorities, the NHS and other agencies. Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults and the Law, sets this within a comprehensive legal framework. The relevant law and guidance is extensive. It includes Department of Health guidance (No Secrets), human rights, the regulation of health and social care providers, the barring of carers from working with vulnerable adults, care standards tribunal cases, mental capacity, undue influence, assault, battery, wilful neglect, ill treatment, manslaughter, murder, theft, fraud, sexual offences, data protection and the sharing of information. The book focuses on how these areas of law apply to vulnerable adults, and brings together an extensive body of case law to illustrate this. Also covered is how local authorities and the NHS may themselves be implicated in the harm - through abuse, neglect or omission - suffered by vulnerable adults. For example, in terms of the gross lapses in standards of care, infection control, nutrition and basic dignity sometimes to be found in hospitals. All those working in community care, adult social work, health care and housing will find this book invaluable. Local authorities, the NHS, voluntary organisations and students will find this to be essential reading.
by Margaret Tatich (Contribution by); John T. Pardeck; Jean A. Pardeck
Call Number: MSASS HQ789.P295 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-11
Get up-to-date information on children's and parent's rights Children have a basic human right to be free of abuse and maltreatment. The late Dr. John Pardeck's Children's Rights: Policy and Practice, Second Edition comprehensively explores the latest legal, psychological, sociological, policy, and child advocacy issues dealing with children's rights. Essential issues are clearly discussed involving children at home, in school, in foster care, and in residential facilities. This new edition of The Haworth Social Work Practice Press classic examines the practical and ethical issues inherent in balancing a child's right to self-determination against the same child's need to be protected. Children's Rights: Policy and Practice, Second Edition delves deep into the causes of abuse and neglect and offers help for families at risk. Techniques are presented for case and cause advocacy, as well as venues for family and individual therapy. Other discussions address the role and function of child protective services and the juvenile justice system, a review of effective social policy to protect and care for children, family health and children's rights issues, and children's rights in schools and day care facilities. This essential exploration includes extensive references and notes, a list of Web sites, and a comprehensive glossary of influential legal rulings focusing on children's rights. Children's Rights: Policy and Practice, Second Edition includes over 100 pages of new and updated material on: new rulings of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) that have implications for children's rights legal case studies an overview and analysis of the Leave No Child Behind Act children's rights and school violence an expanded discussion on practice interventions focusing on various approaches for helping children adjust to substitute care an expanded examination on advocacy and children's rights, with emphasis on legal case studies as a tool for enhancing the rights of children Balancing theoretical considerations, solid information, and practical advice, Children's Rights: Policy and Practice, Second Edition is an essential resource for child welfare workers, attorneys, educators, students, parents, and social workers.
Lawyers Working to End Homelessness
by Amy Horton-Newell; American Bar Association, Commission on Homelessness and Poverty Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: K336 .L37 2006 Law Lib.
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Defending the Right to a Home
by Beth Ellen Harris
Call Number: KF3742 .H37 2004 Law Lib.
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
Examining the influence of legal professionals on the dynamics of state policy making, this book looks at the responses of poverty lawyers to the social welfare law reforms of US Congress and state legislatures. Against a political climate characterized by its hostility towards welfare programmes, cutbacks in public assistance for poor families, the decline in available low-income housing and increasing levels of homelessness, Legal Services lawyers in several states initiated class action suits to protect families from losing their homes. This book presents a stimulating and insightful look at the poverty lawyers claims that when policies and practices of state officials prevent parents and children from being able to live together in their own dwellings, the state violates the legal rights of families. Providing careful case study analysis this book will prove an excellent resource for courses on public governance, human rights and law and society.
The Role of Law in Social Work Practice and Administration
by Theodore J. Stein
Call Number: MSASS & Law KF3721 .S74 2004
Publication Date: 2004-08-18
The strong nexus between law and social work is beyond dispute: the law informs day-to-day social work practice and administration, and social workers are employed by the courts. Moreover, they work collaboratively with attorneys in legal aid offices, public defenders'offices, and other law enforcement settings, interviewing clients, preparing reports for use in court, interpreting social science information, and providing consultation on how best to approach client problems. This book addresses the relationship between the professions of social work and law and helps social workers develop the knowledge necessary to practice in a legal environment. The author focuses on how the law affects the day-to-day practice of social work; the creation, administration, and operation of social service agencies; and the ways in which social workers and attorneys collaborate to serve the public.
Essential Law for Social Workers
by Robert G. Madden
Call Number: eBook on EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Whether protecting their own rights or those of their clients, or navigating the juvenile justice, immigration, or welfare systems, social workers confront legal issues every day. This book explores legal concepts, legal reasoning, and legal processes--illustrated with case vignettes from social work practice--in order to provide social work practitioners and students with practical and accessible legal knowledge. It introduces readers to scholarship about the law and to conceptual knowledge that can be applied to any interaction with the legal system. Social workers are thereby enabled to "think like a lawyer" and increase their effectiveness. The volume features a discussion of recent reform movements, including Alternative Dispute Resolution, and an appendix of sources for legal information and research on the law.
HIV, AIDS, and the Law: Legal Issues for Social Work Practice and Policy
by Donald T. Dickson