Selected Law, Social Work, and Health Resources at Case Western Reserve University
This research guide is focused on law, social work and health resources used by law students and other researchers. Use of resources in multiple disciplines helps create "common ground" by encouraging mutual respect, open communication & understanding.
The concept of learning to think like a lawyer is one of the cornerstones of legal education in the United States and beyond. In this book, Jeffrey Lipshaw provides a critique of the traditional views of thinking like a lawyer;pure lawyering; aimed at lawyers, law professors, and students who want to understand lawyering beyond the traditional warrior metaphor. Drawing on his extensive experience at the intersection of real world law and business issues, Professor Lipshaw presents a sophisticated philosophical argument that the "pure lawyering" of traditional legal education is agnostic to either truth or moral value of outcomes. He demonstrates pure lawyering's potential both for illusions of certainty and cynical instrumentalism, and the consequences of both when lawyers are called on as dealmakers, policymakers, and counselors. This book offers an avenue for getting beyond (or unlearning) merely how to think like a lawyer. It combines legal theory, philosophy of knowledge, and doctrine with an appreciation of real-life judgment calls that multi-disciplinary lawyers are called upon to make. The book will be of great interest to scholars of legal education, legal language and reasoning as well as professors who teach both doctrine and thinking and writing skills in the first year law school curriculum; and for anyone who is interested in seeking a perspective on thinking like a lawyer beyond the litigation arena.
Blaming Mothers: American Law and the Risks to Children's Health by Fentiman, Linda C.
Call Number: NYU Scholarship Online
Publication Date: 2017
The Global Evolution of Clinical Legal Education by Richard J. Wilson
Call Number: OhioLink
Publication Date: 2017-12-14
Globally, the methodologies of legal education have not changed in any fundamental way, some methods dating back hundreds of years. Law schools have relied, for too long, on passive learning methods such as lectures or cases. Clinical legal education provides an alternative that is more than just another pedagogical method. It provides a way for students to experience their emerging professional selves, while providing services or projects with poor and underrepresented clients. This book documents both the historical origins of clinical experiments in the earliest days of US university legal education, and the now-global reach of clinical pedagogy as a proven tool for effective training of legal professionals.
The Law of Later-Life Health Care and Decision Making by Lawrence A. Frolik; American Bar Association, Senior Lawyers Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF3608,/a4 F76 2017 Law Lib.
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
The Millennial Lawyer by John P. Box
Call Number: KF300 .B69 2018 Law Lib
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Legal Issues by M. Ethan Katsh
Call Number: OhioLink
Publication Date: 2017-09-08
The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create includes current controversial issues in a debate-style form designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. This Collection contains a multitude of current and classic issues to enhance and customize your course. You can browse the entire Taking Sides Collection on Create or you can search by topic, author, or keywords. Each Taking Sides issue is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an "Exploring the Issue" section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, Additional Resources, and Internet References.
Rather than trying to impose a preferred solution on their client, lawyers should better listen to their clients; educate their clients on their options; and engage the client in solutions. The benefits of this approach include: Happier clients and a more productive attorney-client relationship A competitive edge in customer service Better client retention and attraction of new clients A competitive advantage in conflict resolution A more meaningful and fulfilling practice A reduction in stress and burnout Kohan devotes specific chapters to the principles of coaching; the history of coaching and the law; and how to design an "attorney-client alliance." She emphasizes that lawyers must work toward their own fulfillment in order to help clients achieve their fulfillment, or as Kohan puts it, "Happy lawyer, happy client." The book serves as the quintessential relationship skills resource for attorneys. Using an "Attorney-Client Alliance" model, Kohan shows lawyers how to empower their clients and engage them in solutions. This user-friendly book provides practical coaching skills, which can be incorporated into a legal practice immediately, without being tedious."
Learning from Practice by Leah Wortham; Susan Brooks; Alexander Sherr; Nancy Maurer
Call Number: KF300 .L43 2016 Law
Publication Date: 2016-02-29
The third edition of Learning From Practice covers topics relevant to law students working in real practice settings, including externships, in-house clinics, and other experiential courses. Intended for use in course seminars and tutorials, each chapter helps students succeed in their work, reflect on their development, and plan for their lives as lawyers. The book starts with topics common to all real world experience: planning to meet goals, working under supervision, observing carefully, communicating effectively, understanding bias and cultural difference, and reflection. The book offers detailed coverage of ethical issues in experiential coursework including a new chapter on professionalism. A group of chapters address key lawyering abilities such as good judgment, client relationships, collaboration, writing for practice, and making presentations. This edition expands coverage of important practice areas including judicial, criminal justice, public interest, public service, and transactional practices. The closing chapters turn to the future and focus on developing professional identity, maintaining well-being, finding a job and career, and the future of the profession. Throughout, the book encourages students toward self-direction, reflection, dialogue and collaboration, critical assessment of law practice, and well-being and career satisfaction.
The Poverty Law Canon by Marie A. Failinger; Ezra Rosser
Call Number: KF390.5.P6 P68 2016 Law Lib.
Publication Date: 2016-07-27
The Poverty Law Canon takes readers into the lives of the clients and lawyers who brought critical poverty law cases in the United States. These cases involved attempts to establish the right to basic necessities, as well as efforts to ensure dignified treatment of welfare recipients and to halt administrative attacks on federal program benefit levels. They also confronted government efforts to constrict access to justice, due process, and rights to counsel in child support and consumer cases, social welfare programs, and public housing. By exploring the personal narratives that gave rise to these lawsuits as well as the behind-the-scenes dynamics of the Supreme Court, the text locates these cases within the social dynamics that shaped the course of litigation. Noted legal scholars explain the legal precedent created by each case and set the case within its historical and political context in a way that will assist students and advocates in poverty-related disciplines in their understanding of the implications of these cases for contemporary public policy decisions in poverty programs. Whether the focus is on the clients, on the lawyers, or on the justices, the stories in The Poverty Law Canon illuminate the central legal themes in federal poverty law of the late 20th century and the role that racial and economic stereotyping plays in shaping American law.
An Advocate Persuades by Joan M. Rocklin; Robert B. Rocklin; Christine Coughlin; Sandy Patrick
Call Number: KF8915 .M355 2016 Law
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
An Advocate Persuades introduces its reader to the role of the advocate and the tools of persuasion. This book, like its predecessor A Lawyer Writes, places the reader in the role of a first-year attorney. Now, that first-year attorney must draft a motion or appellate brief and then present an oral argument.
With step-by-step explanations and numerous examples, An Advocate Persuades explains how to develop and refine trial-level and appellate arguments and then how to present those arguments orally. Speaking to its readers in a straightforward manner, An Advocate Persuades communicates both the theories and foundational skills of persuasion so that they will be retained for a lifetime of legal practice.
Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson
Call Number: KF373.S743 A3 2015 Law
Publication Date: 2015
The New Deportations Delirium by Daniel Kanstroom (Editor); M. Brinton Lykes (Editor)
Call Number: KF4842 .N49 2015
Publication Date: 2015-12-25
Since 1996, when the deportation laws were hardened, millions of migrants to the U.S., including many long-term legal permanent residents with "green cards," have experienced summary arrest, incarceration without bail, transfer to remote detention facilities, and deportation without counsel--a life-time banishment from what is, in many cases, the only country they have ever known. U.S.-based families and communities face the loss of a worker, neighbor, spouse, parent, or child. Many of the deported are "sentenced home" to a country which they only knew as an infant, whose language they do not speak, or where a family lives in extreme poverty or indebtedness for not yet being able to pay the costs of their previous migration. But what does this actually look like and what are the systems and processes and who are the people who are enforcing deportation policies and practices? The New Deportations Delirium responds to these questions. Taken as a whole, the volume raises consciousness about the complexities of the issues and argues for the interdisciplinary dialogue and response. Over the course of the book, deportation policy is debated by lawyers, judges, social workers, researchers, and clinical and community psychologists as well as educators, researchers, and community activists. The New Deportations Delirium presents a fresh conversation and urges a holistic response to the complex realities facing not only migrants but also the wider U.S. society in which they have sought a better life.
Poor Justice: How the Poor Fare in the Courts by Vicki Lens
Call Number: KF390.5.P6 L46 2016 Law
Publication Date: 2015-12-09
Poor Justice: How the Poor Fare in the Courts provides a vivid portrait and appraisal of how the lives of poor people are disrupted or helped by the judicial system, from the lowest to the highest courts. Drawing from court room observations, court decisions, and other material, this book spans the street level justice of administrative hearings and lower courts (where people plead for welfare benefits or for a child not to be taken away), the mid-level justice of state courts (where advocates argue for the right to shelter for the homeless and for the rights of the mentally disabled), and the high justice of the Supreme Court (where the battle for school integration has represented a route out of poverty and the stop and frisk cases illustrate a route to greater poverty, through the mass incarceration of people of color). Poor Justice brings readers inside the courts, telling the story through the words and actions of the judges, lawyers, and ordinary people who populate it. It seeks to both edify and criticize. Readers will learn not only how courts work, but also how courts sometimes help - and often fail - the poor.
The Counselor and the Law by Anne Marie Wheeler; Burt Bertram
Every lawyer wants to be a good lawyer. They want to do right by their clients, contribute to the professional community, become good colleagues, interact effectively with people of all persuasions, and choose the right cases. All of these skills and behaviors are important, but they springfrom hard-to-identify foundational qualities necessary for good lawyering. After focusing for three years on getting high grades and sharpening analytical skills, far too many lawyers leave law school without a real sense of what it takes to be a good lawyer.In The Good Lawyer, a follow up to their book The Happy Lawyer, law professors Douglas O. Linder and Nancy Levit combine evidence from the latest social science research with numerous engaging accounts of able attorneys at work to explain just what makes a good lawyer. They organize the book aroundthe qualities they see as crucial: courage, empathy, integrity, realism, a strong sense of justice, clarity of purpose, and an ability to transcend emotionalism. But as the authors point out, each one must be apportioned in the right measure, and achieving the right balance is difficult. Lawyersneed to know when to empathize and also when to detach; courage without an appreciation of consequences becomes recklessness. And what do you do in tricky situations, where the urge to deceive is high? How can you maintain focus through a mind-taxing (or mind-numbing) project? Every lawyer facesthese problems at some point - they're inherent in the nature of the work - but if properly recognized and approached, they can be overcome. It's not easy being good - quality is less something one grasps and hangs onto than a goal that requires constant striving and attention - but this engaging guide will serve as a handbook for any lawyer trying not only to figure out how to respond to difficult situations, but how to become a better- meaning both more competent and more virtuous - lawyer.
Justice, Conflict and Wellbeing by Brian H. Bornstein (Editor); Richard L. Wiener (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2014-08-12
Justice, conflict and wellbeing are large topics that occupy researchers from a variety of disciplines, as well as laypeople and policy makers. The three concepts are closely connected: conflict often (though not always) impairs wellbeing, whereas justice often (though not always) enhances it; perceived injustice is a common source of conflict, at multiple levels and calls for justice are a common response to conflict. In addition, each construct has subtypes, such as distributive and procedural justice, individual and group conflict and physical and psychological wellbeing. Although there are established traditions of research on the topics in multiple disciplines, there is little cross-fertilization across disciplines. Thisnbsp;volume brings together researchers from social, clinical and educational psychology; law and political science. The unifying theme is how injustice and conflict pose threats to wellbeing, at the micro (individual) and macro (groups and societies) levels. Multi- and interdisciplinary research are at the vanguard of science in the twenty-first century and the present work applies multi and interdisciplinary perspectives to the important real-world topics of justice, conflict and wellbeing.
Reinventing the Practice of Law by Luz Herrera (Editor)
Call Number: KF336 .R45 2014 Law
Publication Date: 2014-12-16
This book offers an assortment of useful advice from nationally known lawyers who describe how they have begun to make our legal system more accessible to moderate income clients. These distinguished authors address the practical, ethical, and business dimensions of new ways of providing legal advice and assistance. You'll find assistance on: Unbundling Online legal services Fee-shifting statutes Co-pay clinics, and much, much more While readable by non-lawyers, great benefit can be had by lawyers who read this book and delve into its exploration of new ideas. The book is essential reading for solo and small firm lawyers, for those concerned with preparing tomorrow's lawyers for sustainable and satisfying careers, and law firms that help everyday people deal with the legal problems of everyday life."
The Millennial Lawyer by Ursula Furi-Perry; American Bar Association, Law Practice Management Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF297 .F872 2012 Law Lib.
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
The Millennial Generation, also called Generation Y--generally those born between 1980 and 2000 are the largest generation in the United States and the fastest-growing segment of workers today. The Millennial Lawyer is a dual guidebook meant for both senior lawyers on effectively using this next generation, and for the young lawyer on adjusting to law practice and life in a firm with side-by-side prescriptive sections for the Millennial lawyer and the attorney managing them. The book relies on a mix of empirical studies, case studies, personal interviews, and research to provide prescriptive advice, tips and techniques, and best practices."
100 Plus Pointers for New Lawyers on Adjusting to Your Job by Sharon Meit Abrahams
Call Number: KF300.A752 2012 Law
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
Chasing Gideon by Karen Houppert
Call Number: eBook on EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2013-03-18
On March 18, 1963, in one of its most significant legal decisions, the U.S. Supreme Court unanimously ruled in Gideon v. Wainwright that all defendants facing significant jail time have the constitutional right to a free attorney if they cannot afford their own. Fifty years later, 80 percent of criminal defendants are served by public defenders. In a book that combines the sweep of history with the intimate details of individual lives and legal cases, veteran reporter Karen Houppert movingly chronicles the stories of people in all parts of the country who have relied on Gideon’s promise. There is the harrowing saga of a young man who is charged with involuntary vehicular homicide in Washington State, where overextended public defenders juggle impossible caseloads, forcing his defender to go to court to protect her own right to provide an adequate defense. In Florida, Houppert describes a public defender’s office, loaded with upward of seven hundred cases per attorney, and discovers the degree to which Clarence Earl Gideon’s promise is still unrealized. In New Orleans, she follows the case of a man imprisoned for twenty-seven years for a crime he didn’t commit, finding a public defense system already near collapse before Katrina and chronicling the harrowing months after the storm, during which overworked volunteers and students struggled to get the system working again. In Georgia, Houppert finds a mentally disabled man who is to be executed for murder, despite the best efforts of a dedicated but severely overworked and underfunded capital defender. Half a century after Anthony Lewis’s award-winning Gideon’s Trumpet brought us the story of the court case that changed the American justice system, Chasing Gideon is a crucial book that provides essential reckoning of our attempts to implement this fundamental constitutional right.
Client Science by Marjorie Corman Aaron
Call Number: KF311 .A923 2012 Law
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
For most lawyers, effective client counseling is neither intuitive nor easy. Lawyers tend to avoid or delay communicating bad news out of a fear of client backlash, or because they feel torn between the obligation to clearly inform clients about weaknesses in legal positions and fear ofdamaging the client relationship. There is a perception that honest advice from a lawyer can make a client doubt the allegiance and zeal brought to a particular legal matter. Client Science helps lawyers to effectively communicate with their clients, particularly when delivering bad news or other legal realities. Author, Marjorie Corman Aaron, explains the applicable social sciences and translates insights from these fields into plain language to help improve a lawyer'sordering, timing, phrasing, and type of explanation, as well as style adjustments for the lawyer's voice, gesture, and body position. Ultimately, she demonstrates how the proverbial well-informed client - meaning a client who fully understands and appreciates the lawyer's information and advice -can also be a satisfied client who trusts the lawyer's competence and loyalty.
How Leading Lawyers Think by Randall Kiser
Call Number: OhioLink
Publication Date: 2011-08-14
In this book, 78 leading attorneys in California and New York describe how they evaluate, negotiate and resolve litigation cases. Selected for their demonstrated skill in predicting trial outcomes and knowing when cases should be settled or taken to trial, these attorneys identify the key factors in case evaluation and share successful strategies in pre-trial discovery, negotiation, mediation, and trials. Integrating law and psychology, the book shows how skilled attorneys mentally frame cases, understand jurors' perspectives, develop persuasive themes and arguments and achieve exceptional results for clients.
Lawyers as Peacemakers by J. Kim Wright
Call Number: KF311 .W75 2010 Law
Publication Date: 2011-05-16
Lawyers as Peacemakers can teach lawyers new ways of finding satisfaction in thier practice and providing comprehensive, solution-focused services to clients; sometimes it's not about winning, it's about finding the best possible answer for everyone involved. These practices focus on a more holistic, humanistic, solution-based approach to resolving legal problems, an approach that many clients want and need.
Vulnerable Populations and Transformative Law Teaching by Society of American Law Teachers Staff (Editor); Golden Gate University School of Law (Editor)
Call Number: KF336 .V85 2011 Law Lib.
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
The essays included in this volume began as presentations at the March 19 20, 2010 Vulnerable Populations and Economic Realities teaching conference organized and hosted by Golden Gate University School of Law and co-sponsored by the Society of American Law Teachers (SALT). That conference, generously funded by a grant from The Elfenworks Foundation, brought together law faculty, practitioners, and students to reexamine how issues of race, gender, sexual identity, nationality, disability, and generally outsider status are linked to poverty. Contributors have transformed their presentations into essays, offering a variety of roadmaps for incorporating these issues into the law school curriculum, both inside the classroom as well as in clinical and externship settings, study abroad, and social activism. These essays provide glimpses into teaching moments, both intentional and organic, to help trigger opportunities for students and faculty to question their own perceptions and experiences about who creates and interprets law, and who has access to power and the force of law. This book expands the parameters of law teaching so that this next generation of attorneys will be dedicated to their roles as public citizens, broadening the availability of justice. Contributors include: John Payton; Richard Delgado; Steven W. Bender; Sarah Valentine; Deborah Post and Deborah Zalesne; Gilbert Paul Carrasco; Michael L. Perlin and Deborah Dorfman; Robin R. Runge; Cynthia D. Bond; Florence Wagman Roisman; Doug Simpson; Anne Marie Harkins and Robin Clark; Douglas Colbert; Raquel Aldana and Leticia Saucedo, Marci Seville; Deirdre Bowen, Daniel Bonilla Maldonado, Kathleen Neal Cleaver, Colin Crawford, and James Forman, Jr.; Susan Rutberg; Mary B. Culbert and Sara Campos; MaryBeth Musumeci, Elizabeth Weeks Leonard, and Brutrinia D. Arellano; Libby Adler; and Paulette J. Williams. The editorial board includes Raquel Aldana, Steven Bender, Olympia Duhart, Michele Benedetto Neitz, Angela Onwuachi-Willig, Hari Osofsky, and Hazel Weiser.
Problem Solving, Decision Making, and Professional Judgment by Paul Brest
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
In Problem Solving, Decision Making, and Professional Judgment, Paul Brest and Linda Hamilton Krieger have written a systematic guide to creative problem solving that prepares students to exercise effective judgment and decision making skills in the complex social environments in which they will work. The book represents a major milestone in the education of lawyers and policymakers, Developed by two leaders in the field, this first book of its type includes material drawn from statistics, decision science, social and cognitive psychology, the judgment and decision making (JDM) literature, and behavioral economics. It combines quantitative approaches to empirical analysis and decision making (statistics and decision science) with the psychological literature illustrating the systematic errors of the intuitive decision maker. The book can stand alone as a text or serve as a supplement to a core law or public policy curriculum. Problem Solving, Decision Making, and Professional Judgment: A Guide for Lawyers and Policymakers prepares students and professionals to be creative problem solvers, wise counselors, and effective decision makers. The authors' ultimate goals are to help readers get it right in their roles as professionals and citizens, and to arm them against common sources of judgment error.
Lawyers and Clients by Stephen Ellmann; Robert D. Dinerstein; Isabelle R. Gunning; Katherine R. Kruse; Ann C. Shalleck
Call Number: OhioLink
Publication Date: 2009-10-29
Lawyers and Clients: Critical Issues in Interviewing and Counseling examines practical and theoretical challenges lawyers face with clients. Each chapter explores a critical issue in interviewing and counseling, such as developing connection across difference, dealing with atypical clients, and using engaged client-centered counseling. Ellmann, Dinerstein, Gunning, Kruse, and Shelleck investigate these issues primarily through detailed analysis of lawyer-client conversations, which invite the reader to consider and critique the lawyer's choices. A key theme is "engaged client-centered lawyering," which emphasizes the importance of client choice and the impact of lawyers on clients, and affirms lawyers' ability to achieve wise engagement with clients.
Cross Cultural Awareness and Social Justice in Counseling by Cyrus Marcellus Ellis; Jon Carlson
Call Number: BF 636.7.C76 C76 2009 KSL
Publication Date: 2008-10-06
Many societal and cultural changes have taken place over the past several decades, almost all of which have had a significant effect on the mental health professions. Clinicians find themselves encountering clients from highly diverse backgrounds more and more often, increasing the need for a knowledge of cross-cultural competencies. Ellis and Carlson have brought together some of the leaders in the field of multicultural counseling to create a text for mental health professionals that not only addresses diversity but also emphasizes the counselor's role as an advocate of social justice. The theoretical foundation for this book rests on research into diversity, spirituality, religion, and color-specific issues. Each chapter addresses the unique needs and relevant issues in working with a specific population, such as women, men, African Americans, Asian Americans, Spanish-speaking clients, North America's indigenous people, members of the LGBT community, new citizens, and the poor, underserved, and underrepresented. Issues that enter into the counselor-patient relationship are discussed in detail for all of these groups, with the hope that this will lead to a greater understanding and sensitivity on the part of the counselor for their patients. This is an important and timely book for both counselors-in-training and those already established as professionals in today's highly diverse and constantly-changing society.
Negotiating Justice by Corey Shdaimah
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
While many young people become lawyers for the big bucks, others are motivated by the pursuit of social justice, seeking to help people for whom legal services are financially, socially, or politically inaccessible. These progressive lawyers often bring a considerable degree of idealism to their work, and many leave the field due to insurmountable red tape and spiraling disillusionment. But what about those who stay? And what do their clients think? Negotiating Justice explores how progressive lawyers and their clients negotiate the dissonance between personal idealism and the realities of a system that doesnOCOt often champion the rights of the poor. Corey S. Shdaimah draws on over fifty interviews with urban legal service lawyers and their clients to provide readers with a compelling behind-the-scenes look at how different notions of practice can present significant barriers for both clients and lawyers working with limited resources, often within a legal system that many view as fundamentally unequal or hostile. Through consideration of the central themes of progressive lawyeringOCoautonomy, collaboration, transformation, and social changeOCoShdaimah presents a subtle and complex tableau of the concessions both lawyers and clients often have to make as they navigate the murky and resistant terrains of the legal system and their wider pursuits of justice and power."
¿You Can Tell It to the Judge¿ and other True Tales of Law School Lawyering by Frank Askin (Editor)
Call Number: OhioLink
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Populations, Public Health, and the Law by Wendy E. Parmet
Call Number: KF3775 .P35 2009 Law Lib.
Publication Date: 2009-04-02
Law plays a crucial role in protecting the health of populations. Whether the public health threat is bioterrorism, pandemic influenza, obesity, or lung cancer, law is an essential tool for addressing the problem. Yet for many decades, courts and lawyers have frequently overlooked law's critical importance to public health. Populations, Public Health, and the Law seeks to remedy that omission. The book demonstrates why public health protection is a vital objective for the law and presents a new population-based approach to legal analysis that can help law achieve its public health mission while remaining true to its own core values. By looking at a diverse range of topics, including food safety, death and dying, and pandemic preparedness, Wendy E. Parmet shows how a population-based legal analysis that recalls the importance of populations and uses the tools of public health can enhance legal decision making while protecting both public health and the rights and liberties of individuals and their communities.
Addressing a Client's Litigation Issues by Aspatore Books Staff (Compiled by)
Call Number: KF311.A933 2008 Law
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Addressing a Clients Litigation Issues is an authoritative, insiders perspective on best practices for counseling clients during litigation. Featuring partners and shareholders from some of the nations leading law firms, these experts guide the reader through the intricacies of the litigation process, with a focus on moving the client through each stage in a way that ensures expectations are met. These top lawyers reveal their advice on how to provide business-oriented service to clients, including strategies for minimizing costs in staffing, discovery, and attorney-client communications. From cost/benefit analysis and key settlement considerations to alternative dispute resolution and risk assessment, these authors explain important factors in discussing strategic options with the client to resolve the case in a way that best aligns with the clients objectives. Additionally, these leaders reveal their strategies to clients for facilitating the litigation process, outline techniques for maintaining a positive attorney-client relationship, and discuss the challenges associated with e-discovery in contemporary litigation. The different niches represented and the breadth of perspectives presented enable readers to get inside some of the great legal minds of today, as these experienced lawyers offer up their thoughts around the keys to success within this ever-evolving field.
The Law and the Public's Health by Kenneth R. Wing; Benjamin Gilbert
Call Number: KF3775 .W5 2007 Law Lib.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Ideal for professionals or students with no legal background, this resource explains the basics of health law and the legal system. It provides a familiarity with legal principles and the capability to communicate effectively with legal counsel. Use this resource to understand the workings of the U.S. legal system in general as well as the specific legal issues that arise in healthcare.
Law in Public Health Practice by Richard A. Goodman
Call Number: OhioLink EBook
Publication Date: 2007
The Criminal Justice System and Health Care by Charles A. Erin (Editor); Suzanne Ost (Editor)
Call Number: OhioLink EBook
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
This book examines questions of medical accountability and ethics. It analyses how the criminal justice system regulates health care practice, and to what extent it can and should be used as a tool to resolve ethical conflict in health care. For most of the twentieth century, criminal courts were engaged in matters relating to medicine principally as a forum to resolve ethical controversies over the sanctity of life. However, the judiciary approached this function with reluctance and a marked tendency to defer to the medical profession to define what constituted ethical, and thus lawful, conduct. However, over the past 25 years, criminal courts have increasingly been drawn into these types of question, and the criminal law has become a major actor in the resolution of ethical conflict. The trend to prosecute for aberrant professional conduct or medical malpractice and the role of the criminal process in medicine has been analytically neglected in the UK. There is scant literature addressing the appropriate boundaries of the criminal process in resolving ethical conflict, the theoretical legal analysis of the law's relationship with health care, or the practical impact of the criminal justice system on professionals and the delivery of health care in the UK. This volume addresses these issues via a combination of theoretical analyses and key case studies, drawing on the experiences of other carefully selected jurisdictions. It places a particular emphasis on the appropriateness of the involvement of the criminal justice system in health care, the limitations of this developing trend, and solutions to the problems it throws up. The book takes euthanasia as a primary example of the issues raised by the intersection of health care and the criminal law, and questions whether health care issues appropriately fall within the remit of the criminal justice system.
The Affective Assistance of Counsel by Marjorie Silver
Call Number: KF300 .S54 2007 Law
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
This book is intended for lawyers and law students interested in developing the competencies to practice law as a healthy, healing profession, one that the lawyer finds fulfilling and rewarding and that is beneficial and healing for the client. It will interest those inclined towards new directions in lawyering, psychology and multiculturalism. In addition, it will be a useful text in clinical law teaching as well as other courses aimed at finding alternative, humanistic approaches to legal practice.The incidence of alcoholism, substance abuse and depression among lawyers, as well as widespread dissatisfaction with the practice of law, underscore the importance of developing healthy, healing alternatives to traditional, largely adversarial, law practice. Despite increasing interest in alternatives to traditional legal practice, embodied in what Professor Susan Daicoff has characterized as The Comprehensive Law Movement, and including schools of thought such as Therapeutic Jurisprudence, there currently exists no compendium of the competencies needed for such practice. In addition, there is little in the literature of the Comprehensive Law Movement that explores the particular challenges of cross-cultural representation. This book is intended to fill that void.
Lawyers Working to End Homelessness by Amy Horton-Newell; American Bar Association, Commission on Homelessness and Poverty Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF336 .L37 2006 Law
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Pro Bono in Principle and in Practice by Deborah L. Rhode
Call Number: KF336 .R486 2005 Law
Publication Date: 2005-05-31
This book explores the aspirational principles and actual practices concerning lawyers' pro bono service. It begins from the premise that both the profession and the public have much to gain from reducing the gap between ideals and institutions. To that end, the book provides the first broad-scale study of the factors that influence American lawyers' pro bono work, including an original empirical survey of over 3,000 lawyers. Attention is focused on the workplace factors and law school experiences that encourage charitable public interest activities. The book also includes the first comparative study of public service by looking at volunteer work by other professionals and by lawyers in other countries. Part I of the book explores the literature on altruistic commitments among the public in general, and lawyers in particular. Part II traces the evolution of attorneys' pro bono responsibilities. Part III presents findings of the empirical survey. Part IV draws on these findings, together with prior research, to propose strategies for increasing and improving lawyers' pro bono activity.
The Family Lawyer's Guide to Building Successful Client Relationships by Sanford M. Portnoy
Call Number: KF311 .P67 2000 Law
Publication Date: 2003-06-03
Presents a step-by-step program for learning how to create successful relationships with the client.
Professionals, it is said, have no use for simple lists of virtues and vices. The complexities and constraints of professional roles create peculiar moral demands on the people who occupy them, and traits that are vices in ordinary life are praised as virtues in the context of professional roles. Should this disturb us, or is it naive to presume that things should be otherwise? Taking medical and legal practice as key examples, Justin Oakley and Dean Cocking develop a rigorous articulation and defence of virtue ethics, contrasting it with other types of character-based ethical theories and showing that it offers a promising new approach to the ethics of professional roles. They provide insights into the central notions of professional detachment, professional integrity, and moral character in professional life, and demonstrate how a virtue-based approach can help us better understand what ethical professional-client relationships would be like.
Difficult Conversations by Douglas Stone; Sheila Heen; Roger Fisher (Foreword by); Bruce Patton
Call Number: BF637 .C45 S78 1999 KSL
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
What is a difficult conversation? Asking for a raise. Ending a relationship. Saying "no" to your boss or spouse. Confronting disrespectful behavior. Apologizing. Conversations we dread, and often handle clumsily as a result, are part of all our lives: in boardrooms and family rooms, across the negotiation table and the dinner table. Now, Difficult Conversations teaches us how to handle these dialogues with more success and less anxiety. How does it work? Based on fifteen years of research and consultations with thousands of people, Difficult Conversations pinpoints what works. The authors discovered that regardless of context, the same small but crucial errors are what trip us up--and a few key adjustments can make all the difference. * The role of emotions--ours and theirs * The impact of what is said and what is not said * Why admitting our mistakes will put us in a stronger position * The truth behind the myth that women are better at expressing their emotions than men * How to respond productively in the face of personal attacks Who is this for? Filled with examples from everyday life, Difficult Conversations is certain to be an instant and lasting classic for families, neighbors, bosses, employees, customers, tenants, landlords, psychologists, teachers, and more. Who are the authors? Douglas Stone, Bruce Patton, and Sheila Heen teach at Harvard Law School and at the Harvard Negotiation Project. They have consulted to countless businesspeople, governments, organizations, and communities including all parties to the negotiations on constitutional transition in South Africa; school teachers in Medellin, Colombia; and community leaders and the police department in Springfield, Massachusetts. They lecture throughout the world and have written on negotiation, conflict resolution, and communication. Bruce Patton is co-author of Getting to Yes.
Lawyers as Counselors by David A. Binder; Paul Bruce Bergman; Susan C. Price
Call Number: KF311 .B3894 1991 Law
Publication Date: 1990-11-01
Lawyer and Client: Who's in Charge? by Douglas E. Rosenthal