This is a guide to the most often used legal research databases. For even more legal databases, consult the law school's A-Z list. For additional topical databases, consult the Kelvin Smith Library's A-Z List
lawinfochina.com (LIC) is the English-language version of the Chinese legal information system first launched by Peking University in 1985. It provides access to English-language versions of selected Chinese legal resources.
Legal Collection includes full text for nearly 250 of the world's scholarly law journals, including a mix of law-school based journals, peer-reviewed journals, bar journals, and other genres of legal literature. Provides index, abstracts and selected full text.
Law School faculty and students are provided individual accounts to Lexis and we are contractually unable to provide broader access. Non-law affiliates should use the campus-wide Nexis Uni subscription, which does provide an interface to many of the Lexis products and tools of most value to academic researchers. Lexis Advance is for law students, law faculty and law librarians. Lexis provides extensive primary legal materials, secondary resources, selected general news resources and selected legal news services. Law Users who encounter difficulties with their Lexis Advance accounts may contact the Reference Desk for assistance.
The LexisNexis Overdrive digital library provides 24/7 access to the latest e-book versions of the Lexis study aids. Series provided include: the Understanding series, Questions & Answers, A Student’s Guide, Skills & Values, the Mastering series, and more. Getting Started with Overdrive. (http://help.overdrive.com/customer/en/portal/articles/1481729-getting-started-with-overdrive)
Provides access to full text archival materials for United States federal and state archival resources. Covers archival Canadian & United Kingdom historical legal materials; limited German legal materials; Legal materials from other countries, international law and organizations, e.g., Canon Law, International Law and Organizations, and other countries. Special Focus Collections include a Islamic Law, Military Law Collection; Native American Collection; the Yale Blackstone Collection; Canon Law; and a Comparative Law Collection. Cataloged, but also may search by browsing.
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that provides compilations of digital full text Congressional publications relevant to enacted U.S. public laws. Provides compiled histories of laws enacted from 1789 to the present, including the following document types: bills, reports, documents, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, Congressional Record sections, presidential signing statements, and statutes. Legislative Insight includes documents related to the passage of a law.