Includes Opinions of the Court, Opinions Relating to Orders, In-Chambers Opinions and Bound Volumes. Unique information: Internet Sources Cited in Opinions, Media Resources and Case Citation Finder; Media includes transcripts of Arguments and Audio of Arguments. Also covers Miscellaneous Case Documents, Information for News Media and Information about The Court.
CourtListener provides millions of legal opinions from state and federal courts. It provides access to the RECAP Archive, Oral Arguments, a Judicial Database and Visualization Tool to analyze & study lines of U.S. Supreme Court cases.
RECAP is a joint project of the Center for Information Technology Policy at Princeton University and Free Law Project. It is one of several projects that expoits the power of the web to archive millions of docket files from Pacer and make them freely available.
This LII collection of U.S. Federal legal materials combines documents held on the LII's own servers (the U.S. Code, Supreme Court decisions, searchable index of U.S. Court of Appeals decisions, and the Code of Federal Regulations) with material available from other Internet-accessible sites.
"The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. The annual update cycle is as follows: titles 1-16 are revised as of January 1; titles 17-27 are revised as of April 1; titles 28-41 are revised as of July 1; and titles 42-50 are revised as of October 1. Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas. Large parts may be subdivided into subparts. All parts are organized in sections, and most citations to the CFR refer to material at the section level."
"The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis. The current update status appears at the top of all e-CFR web pages."
"Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. The Federal Register is updated daily by 6 a.m. and is published Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays."
collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)."