Skip to main content

Federal Tax Research

This research guide is for those who have a basic idea of tax law and its sources

If you want to use an online source:

Bloomberg Law: Practice Centers > Tax

Coverage includes, IRC, tax regulations, tax cases (broad coverage, see database information for specifics), administrative guidance and decisions, and secondary sources, including BNA publications, such as the portfolios.

CCH Intelliconnect

Coverage includes, IRC, tax regulations, tax cases (broad coverage, see database information for specifics), administrative guidance and decisions, forms and secondary sources, including CCH publications, such as the Standard Federal Tax Reporter including the citator.

Hein Online

Coverage includes, IRC, tax regulations, some administrative guidance and decisions. As these are not all in one library, ask at the Reference Desk if you need help finding a specific document.  For tax legislative histories, going back to 1781, use the Taxation & Economic Reform in America Parts I & II library.

Internal Revenue Service’s Electronic Reading Room.

Coverage includes administrative guidance and decisions.  You can easily find Action on Decision (AOD) letters and other IRS documents here.

LexisNexis: Tax Center

Coverage includes, IRC, tax regulations, tax cases (broad coverage, see database information for specifics), administrative guidance and decisions, and secondary sources, including Tax Analyst publications.

RIA/Checkpoint

Coverage includes, IRC, tax regulations, tax cases (broad coverage, see database information for specifics), administrative guidance and decisions, and  secondary sources, including the Citator 2nd (RIA).

WestlawNext: Topics > Tax

Coverage includes, IRC, tax regulations, tax cases (broad coverage, see database information for specifics), administrative guidance and decision, forms, and secondary sources, including several by Bittker.