Access: Bloomberg Law (B-LAW) provides user names and passwords to CWRU School of Law students, faculty and staff only. Bloomberg Law is a CALR platform that integrates cases, statutes, regulations, sample transactional documents, and a citator service with Bloomberg’s corporate news and analysis of financial markets. B-Law is now the exclusive CALR-platform provider of Bloomberg BNA content, U.S. Law Week, selected Wiley treatises and other selected publishers' treatises. Selected Federal filings from PACER are available. Users can set-up personal e-mail alerts. Getting Started resources appear on the main screen
This system has changed. It currently exists to indicate where BNA Premier resources have been incorporated into Bloomberg Law. The former Bloomberg BNA Resource Centers that combined specialist news, case law, legal analysis, treatises, primary sources, and practice tools in an area of law in one site have been incorporated into Bloomberg Law.
CCH IntelliConnect (aka Cheetah) offers online access to CCH's extensive legal and regulatory resources in the areas of business, finance, health, intellectual property (IP), securities, taxation and trade. When Loislaw was sold to Fastcase, several commercial law and IP treatises moved to IntelliConnect. Most Loislaw treatises moved to Fastcase.
Derwent Innovations Index (DII) provides access to more than 14,800,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources. Sections include Chemical, Electrical and Electronic, and Engineering.
The HeinOnline platform provides numerous online collections of legal source material, and provides both page-image (as pdf files) copies for retrieval and display of cited works and full-text page images. Use the Comprehensive User's guide to learn about special features such as Scholar Check or retrieving case law from Fastcase by clicking on inline hyperlinks throughout HeinOnline documents. A premiere online database containing more than 200,000 titles, including law reviews and journals, government documents, classic legal treatises, and more.
This is the premier index of legal periodicals, books, and sympoisa, with a primary focus on English language resources. Many articles are available in full-text. Some articles may be available via HeinOnline.
The Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 (ILP Retro) (H.W. Wilson) provides retrospective coverage from 1908-1981 that indexes over 750 English-language legal periodicals. Cited articles probably are available via HeinOnline.
The HeinOnline Intellectual Property Law Collection combines more than 100 compiled legislative histories, more than 400 books, the text of CFR Title 37 and U.S.C. Titles 17 and 35, and additional material related to intellectual property.
Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 of the world's scholarly law journals, including a mix of law-school based journals, peer-reviewed journals, bar journals, and other genres of legal literature.
Legal Resource Index (LRI) is a controlled-vocabulary index of legal literature comparable in many respects to the Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (ILP), but with a focus that includes more legal newspapers, bar journals and practice-oriented journals. Start of coverage generally: 1980.
Law School faculty and students are provided individual accounts to Lexis and we are contractually unable to provide broader access. Non-law affiliates should use the campus-wide Nexis Uni subscription, which does provide an interface to many of the Lexis products and tools of most value to academic researchers. Lexis Advance is for law students, law faculty and law librarians. Lexis provides extensive primary legal materials, secondary resources, selected general news resources and selected legal news services. Law Users who encounter difficulties with their Lexis Advance accounts may contact the Reference Desk for assistance.
PLI-Plus includes CLE Course Handbooks, Transcripts and PLI Treatises. Scope: a wide range of civil & business law topics, including corporate, health, diversity, international, IP plus. PLI Pro Bono section covers criminal. Includes books, forms, and transcripts of PLI CLE programs. Inclusive dates: 1980-present. Links to cases seamlessly via Fastcase. Available off-campus via VPN.
Provides access to published and unpublished congressional hearings from 1824-present. It also includes abstracting and indexing records with full-text searchable PDFs attached. Hearing types include appropriations, general topical discussions, investigations, legislation consideration, nominations, and oversight. The resource contains the full transcripts of the proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. Hearings also contain texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff.
ProQuest Congressional enables access to the full-text documents of Congress and legislative history summaries (from 1970 forward), including digital versions of the U.S. Serial Set. Includes Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports from 1985 forward; Serial Set Maps 1789-1969;
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that provides compilations of digital full text Congressional publications relevant to enacted U.S. public laws. Provides compiled histories of laws enacted from 1789 to the present, including the following document types: bills, reports, documents, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, Congressional Record sections, presidential signing statements, and statutes. Legislative Insight includes documents related to the passage of a law.
Covering 1936-2014, Regulatory Insight contains administrative law histories organized by public law, facilitating research in federal agencies and executive branch rulemaking. Provides access to all notices, proposed rules and final rules directly linked to specific Public Laws. Also provides regulatory histories associated with specific C.F.R. parts or sections, or U.S. Code citations.
Law School faculty, students, and staff are provided individual accounts to Westlaw. We are contractually unable to provide access to anyone else. Westlaw is a major legal research service providing legal and law-related documents. It includes federal and state cases; statutes; regulations; administrative rulings; legislative histories; legal newspapers and journals; the KeyCite citator and general news. Most legal materials include Westlaw editorial enhancements. Westlaw employs the West Topic and Key Number System. Westlaw passwords are distributed at orientation, & afterwards at the Reference Desk. Law School faculty, students, and staff are provided individual accounts to Westlaw. We are contractually unable to provide access to anyone else.