Skip to main content

Federal Regulation Research

Federal Regulation research is divided into two separate areas: (1) administrative law, which deals with the validity and creation of agency created law; and (2) the research of the agency law itself. This series of research guides deals with the latter.

Where the information is found

  • The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of federal regulations.
  • The Federal Register (FR) is a daily publication that contains the federal regulations (final rules) and is used to find new regulations and amendments to current regulations since the last codification (update) of the Code of Federal Regulations.

Sources

Code of Federal Regulations.

Sources

Federal Register.

Tools to update the Code of Federal Regulations

  • CWRU Law Library: Use the most recent "LSA: List of Sections Affected" volume of the Code of Federal Regulations (the law library's Reference Collection at KF70.A313) and the Federal Registers for the last day of each month since the most recent "LSA: List of Sections Affected" (law library's Law Government Documents, Law Gov Docs at KF70.A2).
  • U.S. Government Printing Office: Use the List of CFR Sections Affected and CFR Parts Affected from the Federal Register on FDsys.
  • Westlaw: Do a full-text search in the Federal Register
  • Lexis: Do a full-text search in the Federal Register
  • Bloomberg: Do a full-text search in the Federal Register

Tools to find regulations

  • CWRU Law Library: the paper copy of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)  has a volume entitled "Index and Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules," is located in law library's Reference Collection at KF70.A313.
  • U.S. Government Printing Office:  FDsys advanced search  allows you to search specific titles, including the Code of Federal Regulations.  From the Code of Federal Regulations page you can access the "Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules for the Code of Federal Regulations and the United States Code." This table allows you to find all the CFR sections authorized by a specific USC section.
  • Westlaw: there is an index full-text searching of the Code of Federal Regulations
  • Lexis: there is full-text searching of the Code of Federal Regulations 
  • Bloomberg: there is full-text searching of the Code of Federal Regulations
  • Hein Online: there is full-text searching of the Code of Federal Regulations
  • Secondary Sources:
  • Agency Websites: