Skip to main content

Health Law Research: Four Ways to Get Started

Introduction to Health Law Resources at Case Western Reserve University.

Electronic Journals and PubMed

Periodical literature in "law and medicine" is abundant. There are several ways of accessing this literature at CWRU and trying them out will help you identify the best search strategy for your topic.  

From The Judge Ben C. Green Law Library website, type in your keyword search in the search box for  CWRU Libraries' Catalog. If the item is not owned by CWRU or is unavailable for any reason, use the Shared Ohio Link Catalog search box. Your search will look for books, periodicals, AV materials, etc. If looking for legal research databases, you would click here for Law Library databases and resources.  

The Cleveland Health Sciences Library (CHSL) also has Electronic Journals on their website. Some of the journals have restricted access online but talk to a Law Reference Librarian about a specific request.  

The Kelvin Smith Library has a large number of searchable A-Z Databases online. These databases, more than 400 selections, cover a full range of research subjects and disciplines. The subject "Health Sciences" links to 42 databases. Identifying keywords, date parameters and, material type will be important for productively searching this large database collection. Use the Summon search box at the top of the webpage to construct a search of multiple resources at the same time.

The Cleveland Health Sciences Library has PubMed centrally placed on their website for instant access. Although PubMed is available free of charge to the public, accessing it from the CHSL website will increase the possibility of full-text search results because of agreements between the two libraries. Using the Medline with Full-Text database will provide links to full-text articles available via CWRU's Ebsco databases.    

The Pubmed Help page offers Tutorials and Topic-Specific Queries to guide new users. PubMed YouTube Tutorials introduce the search system and techniques for framing queries and managing results. Pubmed Special Queries is a Directory of  Topic Specific PubMed Queries that may jump start your research on selected topics.