Skip to main content

Comparing China: Researching the Law and Legal System in English Sources

English books, articles, databases an more to research China's Law and Legal system

Research Databases: Selected

Access UN 

Access UN is an index to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, resolutions, treaties & meeting records. Provides the UN Wire service.

Bloomberg Law (B-LAW)

Bloomberg Law (B-LAW) is a CALR platform that integrates cases, statutes, regulations, sample transactional documents, and a citator service with Bloomberg’s corporate news and analysis of financial markets. B-Law is now the exclusive CALR-platform provider of Bloomberg BNA content, Practising Law Institute (PLI) treatises. Includes other selected publishers' treatises. Federal filings from PACER are available. Users can set-up personal e-mail alerts. Getting Started resources appear on the main screen Access: B-LAW provides user names and passwords to CWRU School of Law students, faculty and staff only.

China Data Online contains statistical, census, spatial about China. It also contain information from the National Bureau of Statistics of China.
 
China Legal Knowledge Database (CLKD) is part of the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI), launched in late 2010. Its content is officially sanctioned by the People's Republic of China. Content includes: Laws/regulations from 1949 to date (500,000 records); Cases from 1979 to date (230,000 records); and Secondary Sources: (1.5 million records). The database is updated daily and newly enacted laws are provided within 48 hours. Both primary and secondary resources cover over 400 legal topics. Includes an English-Chinese dictionary.
 
Provides an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. It contains more than 90 billion data points from more than 65 source organizations. Users can chart and map data, compare and contrast time period data, export data, tables, charts, or maps into work product, or use the content to provide context to related content.
 
This is an e-book library on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. EBSCO operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time. Many titles published before 2005.
 
The Foreign Law Guide is perhaps the single most important resource for beginning inquiries into foreign law and foreign legal jurisdictions.
 
Indexes articles and legal literature from around the world, in all languages, and covering the full breadth of (primarily) non Anglo-American legal systems.

JSTOR Complete Archive\Provides electronic, full text access to the backfiles of approximately 670 scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines including law, social sciences, humanities, arts and the sciences.

Law Info China (LIC)

lawinfochina.com (LIC) is the English-language version of the Chinese legal information system first launched by Peking University in 1985. It provides access to English-language versions of selected Chinese legal resources.

Lexis Advance

Law School faculty and students are provided individual accounts to Lexis and we are contractually unable to provide broader access. Non-law affiliates should use the campus-wide Lexis Academic subscription, which does provide an interface to most of the Lexis products and tools of most value to academic researchers. Students and faculty who are encountering difficulties with their Lexis accounts may contact the Reference Desk for assistance.

 
Westlaw is a major legal research service providing legal and law-related documents. It includes federal and state cases; statutes; regulations; administrative rulings; legislative histories; legal newspapers and journals; the KeyCite citator and general news. Most legal materials include Westlaw editorial enhancements. Westlaw employs the West Topic and Key Number System. Westlaw passwords are distributed at orientation, & afterwards at the Reference Desk. Law School faculty, students, and staff are provided individual accounts to Westlaw. We are contractually unable to provide access to anyone else.